Nova Scotia.—Municipal organization in Nova Scotia covers the whole of the province. The three cities operate under special charters and special legislation. Thirty-nine towns operate under the Town Incorporation Act but there are no municipalities incorporated as villages. Cities and towns are independent of counties. The rural area is divided into 18 counties which, in themselves, do not represent units of local government. However, 12 of these counties each comprise one municipality and the other six each comprise two municipalities, making a total of 24 rural municipalities. Supervision of municipalities is exercised through the Department of Municipal Affairs.

New Brunswick.—This province is divided into 15 counties which are incorporated municipalities and have direct powers of local self-government as rural municipalities, although certain of their powers often apply in both rural and urban municipalities. The six cities have special charters and the 21 towns operate under the Towns Incorporation Act. There is also one village. There are 62 local improvement districts and 10 commissions within the counties but outside the cities, towns and village; these have been incorporated for the provision of limited municipal services. The Department of Municipal Affairs exercises supervision.

Quebec.—Municipal divisions in Quebec embrace the more thickly settled areas comprising about one third of the province and the remainder is governed by the province as 'territories'. The organized area is divided into 74 county municipalities which are divided again into local municipalities and designated as village, township or parish municipalities or simply as municipalities. The counties as such have no direct powers of taxation. Funds to finance the services falling within their jurisdiction are provided by the municipalities forming part thereof. Parts of some counties are not yet organized into incorporated units of local government, being in outlying areas and having little or no population. There are 334 villages and 1,114 townships and parishes. A small number of these are independent of the counties in which they are located. The Municipal Code governs local municipalities and the 56 cities and 171 towns have special Acts. The supervision and assistance of municipalities is through the Department of Municipal Affairs and the Quebec Municipal Commission. Municipal statistics are gathered by the Quebec Bureau of Statistics.

Because of the assumption by the province, on Apr. 1, 1961, of the Montreal Metropolitan Boulevard, both as to construction cost and maintenance, as a provincial highway, and the ability of the area municipalities to fulfil their own obligations, the active functions of the Montreal Metropolitan Corporation are now considerably decreased. It continues to service borrowings already contracted and to apportion costs incurred in the area municipalities for streets constructed on each side of the Boulevard.

Ontario.—Slightly more than one tenth of the area of Ontario is municipally organized and the remainder is governed entirely by the provincial government. The older settled section of the province is divided into 43 counties, five of which are united with others for administrative purposes. Each county, although it is an incorporated municipality, is comprised of the towns, villages and townships situated within its borders and these provide its revenue. There are 30 cities, 158 towns, 158 villages, 574 townships and 20 improvement districts in the province. Some of each are located in the northern districts which are not organized into counties. Supervisory control of municipalities is exercised by the Department of Municipal Affairs and the Ontario Municipal Board under the Municipal Act and other Acts governing aspects of municipal government.